soup and such

simple, fresh vegetarian soups and more

basil popcorn

3 Comments

Hello, readers!

Has your part of the world been as steamy and sticky as mine the last several days? I’ve been cooling off with multiple pitchers of iced tea, really simple salad suppers, and frozen chocolate-covered bananas. There was also a failed watermelon margarita experiment around here last week. Good thing we had enough limes left to make our regular house margaritas* instead – crisis averted!

I barely cooked last week in an effort to avoid the heat in the kitchen. But I did make a tasty snack that is worth sharing. Last summer I found this recipe here. I made this basil popcorn all the time last summer, so when I made it for the first time this season a few days ago, it officially felt like summer to me. Of course, the heat wave helped with that feeling, too.

really yummy basil popcorn

It’s such a great way of preparing popcorn. It’s easy and takes about 5 minutes of kitchen time. I make the basil + olive oil blend first, then pop the corn, then toss it all together. The basil makes it super summery, but I suppose you could use other herbs, like rosemary or thyme. Let me know if you fiddle with this and how it comes out.

I hope summer is being good to you. I’ll see you later in the week with one of those salads I’ve been making. And then I should probably start writing about soup, right? Anyone have a good gazpacho recipe? ~Inge

*Our house margarita recipe is straight from Rick Bayless. Watch out, these puppies are strong!

Basil Popcorn
from Tend

½ cup unpopped corn kernels
½ cup good olive oil (the kind of olive oil you would use in a salad dressing)
1 cup packed fresh basil leaves
fresh grated or shredded parmesan cheese, optional
salt + pepper, to taste

First, combine basil and olive oil in a food processor or blender. Blend it up. Then, pop the corn using whatever method you like. While the corn is popping, get the cheese ready, if using. In your biggest mixing bowl, toss the popcorn with the basil oil, cheese, and salt and pepper. Use whatever amount of cheese floats your boat. Eat immediately. This goes really well with lemonade or limeade.

3 thoughts on “basil popcorn

  1. We have made this recipe twice already and can’t wait to make it again!

  2. Well I am eager to hear about some soups but I am also happy with all of the Such so far!

Leave a Reply

