soup and such

simple, fresh vegetarian soups and more

Butternut squash, potato + leek soup

5 Comments

Butternut squash soup is always great, but truth be told, it sometimes feels a little on the boring side to me. I make a simple pot of it every now and then, with just the squash, a little onion and carrot, veggie broth, salt + pepper and a quick turn of the immersion blender. But if I want to do something really special, I make this soup. The combination of butternut squash, potato and leek is just delicious. I think it really takes butternut squash soup to the next level. The texture is so velvety and the color is such a pretty autumnal yellowish-orange. I want a scarf the color of this soup.

creamy butternut squash, potato + leek soup

If you’re thinking of making some toasted baguette slices with melted cheese to have on the side of this soup, that’s a good idea. Soups need dippers, right? Arrange slices of baguette on cookie sheet, top with shredded cheese and pop ’em in the oven on a high temperature for a few minutes until the cheese melts. The flavors of this particular soup go really well with Gruyère cheese, but parmesan also works if that’s what you happen to have.

~Inge

Butternut squash, potato + leek soup
Adapted only just a little from Cooking Light

2 tablespoons butter
1 medium butternut squash, peeled and chopped (about 5-6 cups)
1 large potato, peeled and chopped (about 2 cups)
1 leek, sliced (about 2 cups)
4-5 cups veggie stock
1 teaspoon salt (or less, if your stock is salty)
½ teaspoon pepper
1 cup milk

Method:

1. Prep all of your veggies.
2. Heat butter in large soup pot. Add the squash, potato, and salt + pepper. Cook for about 10 minutes. I usually look for a little browning to happen and some color to develop on the bottom of the soup pot. Then, add the leek. Cook for a few more minutes.
3. Add the stock, stirring to scrap up any bits on the bottom of the pan. Bring the soup to a boil, then simmer until the veggies are soft. This usually takes about 20 minutes.
4. Remove the soup from the heat. Use an immersion blender (or transfer to a regular blender) and puree the soup. Add more stock if you need to adjust the consistency.
5. Return to a low heat and stir in the milk. Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Butternut squash, potato + leek soup

  1. I bought ingredients for this yesterday, but ended up with a spaghetti squash instead of a butternut squash. Do you think it will be suitable?

    • Hmm…good question! I’ve never cooked a spaghetti squash before, but my understanding is that it’s got a “stringier” consistency than butternut. I’m not sure how that would work in a soup. If you try it out, I’d be curious about the results!

      I’ve only experimented with adding sweet potatoes to this soup when I didn’t have quite the full amount of butternut squash. I remember that was a tasty addition.

      • I made it with spaghetti squash. It was the first time I’ve worked with that vegetable and between my husband, my dad, and myself, we eventually figured out how to get through the tough shell. My dad kept telling me to defrost it–it was so hard he thought it was frozen. Anyway, the soup is actually decent. It isn’t my favourite of all my soups, and the amount of leek I used made it a little too “leeky,” but I’m enjoying it at work for lunch this week! Thanks for the recipe Inge.

      • I’m laughing at the thought of defrosting a spaghetti squash! Cutting into and peeling a butternut squash can also be a challenge. I think everyone must have their own imperfect system. 🙂

  2. What a good idea! I’m going to make this this weekend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

