soup and such

simple, fresh vegetarian soups and more

lemony spinach salad

4 Comments

Hi there!

This will be my first picture-less post because of a camera-related incident a few weeks ago. I was taking a picture of a hot and bubbling cauliflower gratin when I dropped my camera…into the gratin. The gratin was tasty, but the camera hasn’t been working properly ever since the fall. I finally found a repair service, but in the meantime, I’ll continue to post because I don’t want to lose momentum on the blog. Also, I really want to tell you about this salad because it’s so good.

This spinach salad has become a regular fixture in our dinner rotation. It’s super easy to throw together and delicious. The salad itself only has two ingredients, fresh spinach and red onions. The dressing is a tangy mixture of lemon juice, olive oil, s+p, and a dash of sugar. So simple. So tasty.

We love homemade salad dressings around here and this one is a keeper. It pairs very nicely with the fresh spinach. I found the idea for the salad and dressing in an old issue of Cooking Light as a side dish suggestion for a butternut squash soup. This salad does go really well with a creamy and slightly sweet soup, like butternut squash. But we’ve mostly been eating it alongside that roasted garlic quinoa and (truth be told) take-out pizza. It’s a great salad for pizza night.

Happy cooking! ~Inge

Lemony Spinach Salad
The amounts here work out just perfectly, so get out your measuring cups and spoons! I usually eyeball throwing together salads and dressings, but in this case, I do take the time to measure because the proportions are just right.

6 cups fresh baby spinach
½ cup thinly sliced red onion

For the dressing:
2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 teaspoon sugar
¼ teaspoon salt
¼ teaspoon pepper

Place spinach and red onion in salad bowl. To make dressing, whisk together ingredients in a small bowl. Add dressing to spinach mixture and toss to combine. Eat and enjoy.

4 thoughts on “lemony spinach salad

  1. Tried this tonight to accompany some home-made pizza. The bowl was emptied so I guess Ernán and my dad liked it!

  2. Good timing – I’m having a spinach salad tonight for dinner! I’ll try doing this lemony dressing to get out of my red wine rut. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

