soup and such

simple, fresh vegetarian soups and more

hearty kale soup

7 Comments

We made this soup during a snowstorm this week. It was the perfect thing to have simmering on the stove while the wet, icy snow fell outside. Then, we slurped it from bowls while curling up on the futon and watching a mini-marathon of a much-loved TV show.

hearty kale soup

hearty kale soup

I ended up working a lot during the last few weeks and haven’t had a ton of time for cooking. As a result, healthy meals have been kind of hit or miss. When I finally had a small break, I found I was craving a broth-based hearty soup with veggies and greens. I decided on this kale soup from Jeanne Lemlin’s Vegetarian Classics. It did the trick!

I tweaked the original recipe a bit by adjusting the amounts of some ingredients. The big change I made was to use smoked paprika instead of regular (sweet?) paprika. Wow! Smoked paprika is amazing. Has everyone else known about this except for me? It pairs perfectly with the kale and chickpeas in the soup. I can’t wait to try adding it to more dishes.

This soup is really, really good. A bowl of wholesome and hearty goodness to get you through this last stretch of winter. It is vegan as is, and the leftovers are even better – so make a big pot this weekend and eat it all week! ~Inge

Kale soup
Adapted from Jeanne Lemlin’s wonderful Vegetarian Classics

I used smoked paprika, but the original recipe calls for regular paprika. If you can find smoked paprika, go for it! The flavor is out of this world. The leftovers of this soup are delicious, so don’t hesitate to make the entire batch, even if you’re just cooking for one! For the two of us, this was enough to feed us for two dinners, one lunch, and fill two mason jars to keep in the freezer for later.

2 tablespoons olive oil
2 large onions, diced
4 garlic cloves, minced
2 bay leaves
10 cups veggie stock
1 16-ounce can diced tomatoes
1 15-ounce can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1 pound kale (you should have about 10 cups finely chopped)
1.5 pounds small red potatoes, diced
2 teaspoons smoked paprika
Dash of cayenne pepper
1 teaspoon salt
Freshly ground pepper (don’t be shy)
Method:

1. Heat oil in the largest soup pot you have. Add onions and garlic and sauté for about 10 minutes, until onions are soft and start to brown.

2. Add all of the remaining ingredients and bring the soup to a boil (raise the heat to do this). Once it boils, lower the heat to a simmer and let it cook for about 30 minutes, until the potatoes are tender enough to spear with a fork.

3. Remove and discard the bay leaves. Remove 2 or 3 cups of the soup and puree in a blender or food processor. Return it to the soup and stir to blend. This extra step adds some creaminess to the soup. This soup only gets better with time, so if possible, make it a few hours in advance of when you want to eat it.

7 thoughts on “hearty kale soup

  1. Just to chime in and say the grocery store recently had no kale recently, so I tried Swiss chard (the red stuff) instead. Also really good!

  2. I made this today Inge. Ernán and I both loved it. He said I’d hit the jackpot with this soup, and siad it was the best soup I’ve ever made. I give you and the recipe all the credit!!

    Incidentally, I only had regular paprika. I had half a jalapeno so I threw that in (chopped), and I blended the whole thing.

  3. I love kale in soups! This looks like a great recipe.

Leave a Reply

