soup and such

simple, fresh vegetarian soups and more

cream of broccoli soup

2 Comments

When I was growing up, broccoli was a favorite vegetable at our house. I’m one of five kids, and as far as I remember, we all loved broccoli. I’m sure it wasn’t easy for my mom to make dinners that were a hit with everyone, but she could never go wrong with a big bowl of steamed broccoli on the side. And it was even better when she made homemade cheese sauce for the broccoli. Oh yeah, that was a special treat. It was even a frequent request from all of us for birthday dinners. Imagine that, kids requesting broccoli on their birthday! We were an odd bunch. This is probably why three of us are now vegetarians and the other two are big veggie lovers!

cream of broccoli soup

cream of broccoli soup

Another family favorite was my mom’s cream of broccoli soup. I decided to make a big pot of this soup last week and it was delicious! In my opinion, the key is to add the juice of one lemon to the pot once the soup has finished cooking. It really makes all the difference. Taste the soup before and after adding the lemon juice – it’s amazing what a little citrus can do!

After I made this, I called my mom to compare recipe notes. Turns out she also adds the lemon juice, which is probably why I liked the lemon flavor so much because it reminded me of her soup.

~Inge

p.s. Please remember to VOTE for my asparagus and leek soup in the soup category for the 2013 Virtual Vegan Potluck! Go here to vote! Voting ends May 31!

 

Cream of broccoli soup
Recipe created with a little guidance from here and my mom

For the broccoli, I use the florets and chop up part of the thick stem, too, so almost nothing goes to waste. If you use a non-dairy alternative to the milk and butter, this soup is easily made vegan.

8 cups chopped broccoli
1 onion, chopped
2 stalks celery, sliced
2 tablespoons butter (or olive oil)
4 cups veggie stock
2 cups milk
3 tablespoons flour
1 lemon

Method:

1. Melt the butter in your favorite soup pot over medium heat. Add the chopped onion and celery. Cook for about 5 minutes until the veggies are soft. Add the chopped broccoli and stir it around, cooking for a few minutes. Then, pour in the veggie stock and bring to a boil. Cover and simmer for about 10-15 minutes, until the broccoli is soft.

2. Take the soup off the heat and puree using an immersion blender or in batches in a regular blender. I tried to leave some pieces of broccoli un-blended so that the overall soup had a nice texture.

3. Put the soup back on low heat. In a small jar with a lid, combine the flour and about ½ cup of the milk. Shake it up so that you have a smooth “milk flour” mixture. Pour this into the soup along with the rest of the milk. Cook the soup for just a few minutes on low heat to thicken it and make sure the raw flour taste is cooked out.

4. Add the juice of one lemon to the pot of soup. Stir it up and enjoy!

2 thoughts on “cream of broccoli soup

  1. A classical soup but I love the classiac’s! 🙂 Looks mouthwatering too!

Leave a Reply

