soup and such

simple, fresh vegetarian soups and more

Tabouli Salad

5 Comments

034

Is it Tabbouleh or Tabouli? I’ve seen both spellings. Either way, it’s a pretty tasty salad that’s super easy to make! I always like to pick up a container of Tabouli at the Middle Eastern bakery in our neighborhood where we buy our favorite dill hummus and spinach pies. I also sometimes buy Cedar’s brand Tabouli at the grocery store, which is surprisingly very good.

A few weeks ago, I was scrounging around the pantry looking for things to use up. I had forgotten about this bag of bulgur that I bought to make our new favorite veggie chili recipe. Anyway, the back of the bag had a recipe for Tabouli so I figured I’d try it! It was a delicious experiment.

030

Fair warning: there is a not-insignificant amount of veggie and herb chopping involved in making this salad. But the end result is worth your effort, promise! And buy more parsley than you think you’ll need. I ended up using the entire bunch to just barely get the 1 cup needed. Also, and this is for a certain Soup and Such reader who tends to go rogue on recipes, don’t skimp on the chopped fresh mint! It adds such a nice flavor to the salad.

Obviously hummus is a perfect companion here, but I ended up making this favorite white bean dip to eat with the Tabouli. A super refreshing and light summer lunch! If you try this recipe, let me know how it turns out!

~Inge

Tabouli Salad

½ cup bulgur (also called cracked wheat; if you can’t find it, substitute couscous or quinoa)
1 cup chopped tomatoes
1 cup chopped cucumbers
1 cup chopped green onions
1 cup chopped fresh parsley
½ cup chopped fresh mint
1/3 cup fresh lemon juice
1/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil
Salt + pepper to taste

Method:

1. Rinse bulgur in a strainer or sieve a few times, until the water runs clear. Place rinsed bulgur in a bowl and cover with boiling water. Let sit for 30 minutes.

2. Chop all the veggies and herbs and combine with the lemon juice, olive oil, and salt + pepper in a bowl.

3. Drain the bulgur. You want to try and get as much water out of the bulgur as possible. What I did was use my (clean!) hands and squeezed handfuls of the bulgur to get any remaining water out. Then, add the bulgur to the rest of the ingredients and toss to combine. Let the salad sit in the fridge for about an hour before you eat it. You want to give it some time so the flavors can mingle and marry. Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Tabouli Salad

  1. Moi?!? Yeah, I’m a rogue recipe follower. I view all ingredients that I don’t have as “optional” 🙂

  2. Made the tabouli and the bean dip with pita chips last Sunday for lunch. Both were delightful. Ernan enjoyed the bean dip in particular. Great recipes Inge! Keep them coming!

  3. My recipe also calls for chick peas and feta. I have a source nearby for French feta, and the whole thing is just so good, and doesn’t heat up the house. Yum! Oh, and I just cook up the bulgur at 1:2 ratio to water. I start them both together cold, bring to a boil & shut it off. It’s all done in an hour of sitting, and no draining is needed. I like Bob’s Red Mill red wheat.

    I think I’m going to have to make some chick pea spread. Thanks for that one, too.

Leave a Reply

